Alaska Homeschool Laws
Homeschooling is regulated at the state level and changes may be made to the relevant statutes at any time. Always consult the actual state code, which is usually online at your state's official website, for the most up to date and accurate legal information with regard to homeschooling. Also keep in mind that interpretations of the code -- whether provided by school districts or homeschool groups -- may or may not be an accurate reflection of the law. Always combine interpretations with your own reading of the statute itself.
Although we try to keep our links up to date, state laws change regurlarly. The information at the links provided below contain information that may or may not be current.
The "Show Me" Letter - Many an uninformed (or informed but overzealous) school administration official has asked local homeschoolers for more documentation than the state homeschool law requires. In The "Show Me" Letter, Shay Seaborne relates her experience with an overzealous official and how knowing the law and being polite but firm is often all it takes to educate local officials. A "must read" for new homeschoolers!
Education website for the state of Alaska
Article 01. Compulsory Education. Sec. 14.30.010. When attendance compulsory. (a) Every child between seven and 16 years of age shall attend school at the public school in the district in which the child resides during each school term. Every parent, guardian or other person having the responsibility for or control of a child between seven and 16 years of age shall maintain the child in attendance at a public school in the district in which the child resides during the entire school term, except as provided in (b) of this section. (12) is being educated in the child's home by a parent or legal guardian.
Helpful Information, Links & Tips for Homeschoolers in Alaska
Discussions and Resources for Alaska Homeschoolers